Starting School

Tomorrow is the deadline for applying for primary schools.  My little boy is due to start school this September so we have already applied for our places and are now anxiously waiting for the end of April when we will hear where he’s going.

I’m really looking forward to him starting school, I think he will absolutely love it being with his friends all day and learning about the world.  However, I just cannot get my head around the logistics of getting one child to school, another to nursery, and getting myself to work on time!  Not to mention having to pick him up again in the afternoon!  I know that Mums manage this every day, and that once we get into the swing of things it will become easy, but right now I just can’t bear to think about it!!

The other big issue with starting school is of course sorting out childcare during the school holidays.  At the moment both my boys carry on at nursery throughout the holidays, so it has only just occurred to me that I will need to arrange alternative childcare during the holidays!  Luckily my Mum is a teacher and lives down the road, so it shouldn’t be too difficult for us.  But with so many of us living away from our families, and with our Mums continuing to work full time for longer, relying on family support isn’t as easy as it used to be.

Are your children already at school?  How do you manage the school drop off and school holidays?  Please comment with your tips/experience.

3 Comments

Filed under childcare, children, planning, school, work-life balance

3 responses to “Starting School

  1. Pingback: Return to Learn | Flexi-Mum

  2. Pretty! This was an extremely wonderful post.
    Thanks for providing this information.

  3. We heard on Friday that Oscar has got in to our first choice of school – brilliant news!

Leave a Reply

